Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

How to share a map in Map Editor?

When sharing your map with other users in the field, you can set permissions for each user. Separate permission can be defined for each layer as well. 

By defining options for every user individually you can decide who will be able to view, edit, share, export, collect, or update data.

After you have created your map in Map Editor you can share it with other GIS Cloud users. The process is straightforward and easy to follow. 

  1. Log in Map Editor with you GIS Cloud credentials
  2. Open a map you wish to share
  3. Under Map tab click on Share and Publish
  4. Share and Publish window will open
  5. Type in the username of the user you want to share the map with. Note that you can also share a map with a group of users! Learn how to create a group in this guide.
  6. Press Share
  7. Set permissions to users/groups. Here is the list of permissions you can set:
    • Can view – will provide only viewing privileges to the person you have shared your map with.
    • Can share – will provide sharing privileges to the person you have shared your map with.
    • Can edit – will provide complete editing privileges to the person you have shared your map with.
    • Can export – will allow the person to export the map you have shared with him
    • Can collect – will allow the person in the field to send new data, without the possibility to make changes to existing data or the one that he has already sent through Mobile Data Collection application.
    • Can update – will allow the person in the field to make attribute and geometry changes, without possibility to send new data through Mobile Data Collection application.

Set layer permissions

Regardless of map privileges you have set for another user, there are additional sharing options you can set for each layer individually. To share a layer and set permissions follow these steps:

  1. Select layer on the Layer list.
  2. Choose the Share Layer option.
  3. Write the username of the user (or group name) you want to share a layer with.
  4. Set sharing permissions:
    • Can view – will allow the person you have shared your map with only viewing privileges of the specified layer, without possibility to edit or export it.
      E.g., If you gave other user edit privileges to the map, but want to make restricted privileges for a specific layer.
    • Can share – will provide sharing privileges to the person you have shared your layer with.
      E.g., If you gave view privileges to the map, but want to enable other user to share a layer with another user. A person with share privileges can share layer to another user and assign him the same permissions he got from the layer owner.
    • Can edit – will provide the person you have shared your map with complete editing privileges of the specified layer.
      E.g., If you gave other user view privileges to the map, but want him to be able to edit a specific layer.
    • Can export – will allow the person to export specific layers from the map you have shared with him.
      E.g., If you gave other user view privileges to the map, but want him to be able to export a specific layer.
    • Can collect – will allow the person in the field to send new data to a specific layer, but without the possibility to make changes to existing data or the one that he already sent through Mobile Data Collection application.
    • Can update – will allow the person in the field to make attribute and geometry changes for features in a specific layer, but without the possibility to send new data through Mobile Data Collection application.
  5. Publicly available – makes the layer publicly available for all GIS Cloud users. After making layer public, it’s also possible to choose between view, edit and/or export privileges.

Note: Shared layer will allow other user to use the layer only inside the map which you also need to share with him. 

Was This Article Helpful?